Therapist Spotlight – Charise

  1. Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Sudbury, South Suffolk. It’s a very pretty little town surrounded by historic villages and it overlooks beautiful water meadows and the river Stour.

  1. How long have you lived in London and how do you like it so far?

Since November 2017. I had always been a country bumpkin and very much love my horses. West London is the closest I can get to countryside and I’ve started rowing and enjoy my daily stroll around Osterley Park to walk my beautiful pooch.

  1. Did you have any different jobs before you started doing sports massage?

I have had a few different job roles! I have ridden since I was 8 years old which got me involved in yard work to earn my ride for the weekend. I’ve also worked in a bakery, been a waitress and as a care home assistant whilst finishing my Equine sports therapy degree at Writtle University. I treated horses using equine therapy before focusing on two legged humans in London!

  1. What are your hobbies?

Obviously my number one hobby is HORSES! I also love to take my bike out, go swimming and more recently rowing. Training for rowing is pretty intense and we have our first race on the 10th of November – wish me luck!

5. Do you have a big family (tell me a bit about them)?

Yes, I have a HUGE family. My dad is the youngest of twelve, my mum is one of five and I am the baby of five! Maverick who is my lovely dog and the three cats, Lucky, Felix and Gizmo are also part of the family – unfortunately, Gizmo has just passed away at the grand old age of 17 and will be sadly missed.

  1. What would you do if you could design a trip to anywhere in the world for one month with all expenses paid?

For a one month trip I would love to do a road trip along the east coast of America, but eventually I want to travel all the way round the world.

  1. Tell me something surprising about you, or that most people wouldn’t expect

Something surprising? Hmm. I come from a long line of fishermen and I really dislike fish.

  1. Are there any skills you’ve always wanted to develop, or wish you had?

I one hundred percent wish I had learned some foreign language skills! Now that I am older, I understand how important it is to speak other languages. I would also love to learn to play the piano.

  1. What three courses would you cook for a dinner party?

Mmmm food! Okay, for starters I would serve breaded baked brie – I absolutely love cheese! For mains I would serve a beautiful fillet of steak with a creamy mushroom sauce and lovely green veggies. For dessert I would serve my famous lemon cheesecake.

  1. And name three celebrity or well-known guests you’d invite

I would invite Channing Tatum, Will Smith and Dwain Johnson.

  1. Who would play you in a film of your life?

Anna Kendrick, I feel like she would play the role of me quite well.

  1. Tell me a joke

My dog used to chase people on a bike a lot. It got so bad, finally I had to take his bike away.